Unjoin Nodes from a cluster

Before you remove and decommission the nodes and transfer any storage to the new nodes, you might need to reassign the epsilon to a new node. You also must unjoin the original nodes from the cluster.

Steps

  1. Disable high-availability by entering the following command at the command prompt of one of the original nodes: storage failover modify -node original_node_name -enabled false
    node_name is the name of one of the original nodes.
  2. Access the advanced privilege level by entering the following command on either node: set -privilege advanced

    The system displays the following message:

    Warning: These advanced commands are potentially dangerous; use them only when directed to do so by NetApp personnel.
    do you wish to continue? (y or n):
  3. Enter y.
  4. Find the node that has epsilon by entering the following command and examining its output: cluster show

    The system displays information about the nodes in the cluster, as shown in the following example:

    cluster::*>
    Node                 Health  Eligibility  Epsilon
    -------------------- ------- ------------ ------------
    node0                true    true         true
    node1                true    true         false
    node2                true    true         false
    node3                true    true         false
    

    If one of the original nodes has the epsilon, then the epsilon needs to be moved to one of the new nodes. If another node in the cluster has the epsilon, you do not need to move it.

  5. If necessary, move the epsilon to one of the new nodes by entering the following commands: cluster modify -node original_node_name -epsilon false cluster modify -node new_node_name -epsilon true
  6. Enter the following command, once for each of the original nodes: cluster unjoin -node original_node_name

    The system displays the following message:

    Warning: This command will unjoin node node_name from the cluster. You
             must unjoin the failover partner as well. After the node is
             successfully unjoined, erase its configuration and initialize all
             disks by using the "Clean configuration and initialize all disks (4)"
             option from the boot menu.
             Do you want to continue? {y|n}: y "
    
  7. Enter y.

    The node boots and stops at the boot menu, as shown in the following example:

    This node was removed from a cluster. Before booting, use option (4) 
    to initialize all disks and setup a new system.
    Normal Boot is prohibited.
     
    Please choose one of the following:
    
    (1) Normal Boot.
    (2) Boot without /etc/rc.
    (3) Change password.
    (4) Clean configuration and initialize all disks.
    (5) Maintenance mode boot.
    (6) Update flash from backup config.
    (7) Install new software first.
    (8) Reboot node.
    Selection (1-8)?
    
  8. Enter 4.

    The system displays the following messages:

    Zero disks, reset config and install a new file system?:
    This will erase all the data on the disks, are you sure?:
    
  9. Enter y at both prompts.
  10. Take one of the following actions:
    If the cluster, after you complete the unjoin commands, has… Then…
    Two nodes
    1. Configure high availability by entering the following command: cluster ha modify -configured true
    2. Go to Step 11.
    More than two nodes Go to Step 11.
  11. Return to the admin level by entering the following command: set -privilege admin
  12. Turn off power to any disk shelves attached to the original nodes.
  13. Turn off power to the original nodes and then unplug them from the power source.
  14. Remove all cables from the original nodes.
  15. If you plan to reuse attached disk shelves from the original nodes on the new nodes, cable the disks shelves to the new nodes.
  16. Remove the original nodes and their disk shelves from the rack if you do not plan to reuse the hardware in its original location.
twitterlinkedinmailtwitterlinkedinmail
Arco

About

View all posts by